Home Sports Cricket Irani Cup 2023 | Rest of India lifts trophy as batters fall like 9 pins on third day

Irani Cup 2023 | Rest of India lifts trophy as batters fall like 9 pins on third day

Irani Cup 2023 | Rest of India lifts trophy as batters fall like 9 pins on third day


Rest of India defeated Saurashtra by 175 runs to clinch the Irani Cup as 21 wickets fell on the third day on the Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) stadium right here on Tuesday.

Parth Bhut’s seven-wicket spell within the second session hit Rest of India (RoI) like a giant yellow college bus as he ended up with figures of seven for 53. The Rest of India camp would have clutched at something that appeared like a lifeline because it misplaced 9 wickets for 64 runs within the session to be bowled out for 160 in its second innings.

Chasing 255, although, Saurashtra was tasered, tied-up, and gagged within the third session because it was bowled out for 79, courtesy left-arm spinner Saurabh Kumar (six for 43, match haul of 10 for 108).

The first session, in stark distinction, was a mushroom cloud of informal. Mayank Agarwal (49, 93b, 6×4) and Sai Sudharsan (43, 104b, 3×4) added 85 runs off 172 balls for the first-wicket and the Rest of India camp would have felt good.

After lunch, Parth had Sai Sudharsan caught at midwicket by Pujara, castled Sarfaraz Khan who tried a reverse sweep, and Yash Dhull caught and bowled.

Left-hander Shams Mulani got here down the monitor and missed a ball that didn’t flip was stumped. Okay.S. Bharat , whose tendency to reverse-sweep borders on obsession, top-edged a sweep solely to be caught by the bowler himself.

Pulkit Narang missed one which straightened minutely and was bowled by means of the gate and Vidwath Kaverappa was out leg-before.

Parth (12 for 147) grew to become the primary bowler from Saurashtra (and Gujarat) to get a 10-wicket match-haul within the Irani Cup historical past.

The scores:

Rest of India — 1st innings: 308.

Saurashtra — 1st innings: Harvik Desai c Sarfaraz b Kaverappa 0, Chirag Jani c Bharat b Kaverappa 2, Samarth Vyas c Sarfaraz b Saurabh 29, Cheteshwar Pujara c Dhull b Narang 29, Sheldon Jackson lbw b Saurabh 13, Arpit Vasavada c Sarfaraz b Saurabh 54, Prerak Mankad lbw b Kaverappa 29, Parth Bhut c Bharat b Mulani 20, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja lbw b Mulani 11, Jaydev Unadkat c Narang b Saurabh 19, Yuvrajsinh Dodiya (not out) 0; Extras (lb-4, nb-3, w-1): 8; Total (in 83.2 overs): 214.

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-4, 3-51, 4-64, 5-77, 6-124, 7-178, 8-193, 9-205.

RoI bowling: Kaverappa 9-0-28-3, Saini 4-0-14-0, Saurabh 26.2-5-65-4, Mulani 23-3-47-2, Narang 21-3-56-1.

Rest of India — 2nd innings: Sai Sudharsan c Pujara b Parth 43, Mayank Agarwal c Harvik b Dharmendrasinh 49, Hanuma Vihari c Harvik b Dharmendrasinh 22, Sarfaraz Khan b Parth 13, Yash Dhull c & b Parth 5, Shams Mulani st Harvik b Parth 1, Okay.S. Bharat c & b Parth 0, Saurabh Kumar b Dharmendrasinh 7, Pulkit Narang b Parth 9, Navdeep Saini (not out) 4, Vidwath Kaverappa lbw b Parth 1; Extras (lb-4, nb-2): 6; Total (in 52 overs): 160.

Fall of wickets: 1-85, 2-117, 3-133, 4-135, 5-138, 6-139, 7-146, 8-146, 9-156.

Saurashtra bowling: Unadkat 7-4-9-0, Dharmendrasinh 22-2-65-3, Dodiya 7-1-29-0, Parth 16-1-53-7.

Saurashtra — 2nd innings: Chirag Jani b Saurabh 1, Harvik Desai c Sarfaraz b Saurabh 13, Samarth Vyas b Saurabh 10, Cheteshwar Pujara lbw b Mulani 7, Sheldon Jackson c Kaverappa b Saurabh 3, Arpit Vasavada c Vihari b Mulani 0, Prerak Mankad c Dhull b Narang 12, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja c Mulani b Saurabh 21, Parth Bhut c Dhull b Mulani 1, Jaydev Unadkat (not out) 8, Yuvrajsinh Dodiya b Saurabh 0; Extras (b-3): 3; Total (in 34.3 overs): 79

Fall of wickets: 1-3, 2-15, 3-26, 4-33, 5-34, 6-42, 7-50, 8-51, 9-79.

RoI bowling: Kaverappa 3-0-5-0, Saurabh 16.3-1-43-6, Saini 2-0-5-0, Mulani 12-2-22-3, Narang 1-0-1-1.

PoM: Saurabh (RoI).


Content Source: www.thehindu.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here