Home Sports Hockey Hockey India League to renew after eight years

Hockey India League to renew after eight years

Hockey India League to renew after eight years


After a spot of eight years, the Hockey India League (HIL) is ready for revival and is scheduled to begin in late December.

Representative image(Getty Images)
Representative picture(Getty Images)

Hockey India (HI) has acquired clearance from the worldwide physique to host the occasion from December 28 to February 1 with the match to undertake a home-and-away format.

247 I News – your quickest supply for breaking news! Read now.

“We have been given a clear window by the international hockey federation (FIH). We have been in touch with many national federations like Australia and Netherlands, all of whom have agreed that their best players will be available,” HI secretary common Bhola Nath Singh stated right here on Sunday.

HIL was held from 2013 to 2017 earlier than it folded. The new model can have eight groups. The ladies’s HIL, involving six groups, will probably be held concurrently. Each workforce can have separate homeowners and the 14 entities have kind of been finalised. The gamers’ public sale will happen submit the Paris Olympics.

Soon after taking up as HI president in September 2022, former India skipper Dilip Tirkey and his administration workforce had expressed the need to revive the league that folded on account of monetary and scheduling points. In April 2023, HI named Big Bang Media Ventures Pvt. Ltd. as its industrial and advertising and marketing associate for the league. The HIL committee met for the primary time in July 2023 to debate the monetary mannequin proposed by the company, which was accepted by the HI government Board reviewed.

“HIL will be held under HI, but will have a separate governing body,” Nath stated.

Hardik, Salima Players of the Year

India midfielders Hardik Singh and Salima Tete have been adjudged the 2023 males’s and ladies’s Player of the Year. They have been offered the Balbir Singh Sr award and 25 lakh every on the HI annual awards held right here on Sunday. The Upcoming Player of the Year (U-21) award went to Deepika Soreng and Araijeet Singh Hundal, who acquired a trophy and 10 lakh every. Other awardees are: Abhisek (finest ahead), Hardik Singh (finest midfielder), Harmanpreet Singh (finest defender) and P Sreejesh (finest goalkeeper). A complete prize pool was 7.56 crore.

Ashok Kumar, the 1975 World Cup hero, was offered the lifetime achievement award named after his late father, hockey wizard Major Dhyan Chand.


Content Source: www.hindustantimes.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here